Tottenham head coach ANGE POSTECOGLOU beats Arsenal counterpart to Manager of the Year honour at London Football Awards

Saturday, March 02, 2024
 – Tottenham boss, Ange Postecoglou has beaten Arsenal counterpart Mikel Arteta to win the Manager of the Year prize at the 2024 London Football Awards.

Postecoglou was honoured at the annual event after helping to transform Tottenham since his arrival from Celtic last summer.

The Australian has overcome the sale of club record goalscorer Harry Kane to lead Spurs to fifth in the Premier League.

Tottenham will be aiming to secure a return to Champions League football, after missing out following a miserable campaign last season.

Postecoglou's honour comes despite Arsenal being involved in a second successive Premier League title race under Arteta.

West Ham's David Moyes, outgoing Chelsea Women's head coach Emma Hayes, and Leyton Orient's Richie Wellens were also nominated.

Arsenal midfielder Declan Rice was crowned Player of the Year after his impressive displays since joining last summer for £105m.

The award also rewards Rice's performances for West Ham last season, where he captained the Hammers to the UEFA Europa Conference League.

Rice saw off competition from former West Ham team-mate Jarrod Bowen, Tottenham duo Guglielmo Vicario and Pedro Porro, as well as fellow Gunner William Saliba.

Chelsea star Cole Palmer won the young player award after starring since his summer transfer from Man City.

Palmer has scored 14 goals and provided nine assists in 34 matches so far this season.

The 21-year-old was presented with the award by former Chelsea midfielder and manager Frank Lampard.

Post a Comment