Sunday September 8, 2019-A blow befell Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) on Saturday after one of its top leaders resigned just hours to the party's planned nominations.

Reports indicate that ODM's Kibra organising secretary, Sigar Agumba, called it quits claiming that the party "does not support home-grown leaders”.

Earlier, Agumba had expressed interest in contesting for the Kibra seat after the death of the area's MP, Ken Okoth.

Reports indicate that the outgoing organising secretary made the move so that he could run for the seat under KANU ticket.

In 2013, the politician had contested for the seat but came in second in the race.
Shortly after the resignation, ODM, after its party nominations, announced the Late Kibra MP Ken Okoth's brother, Bernard Otieno Okoth, as its flagbearer in the race.

Bernard Okoth will now face among others, McDonald Mariga of Jubilee Party, former ODM strategist Eliud Owalo fielded by Musalia Mudavadi's ANC, Khamisi Butichi (Ford Kenya) and Ukweli Party's Editar Ochieng.

Imran garnered a total of 4,382 votes against his closest challenger Peter Orero who managed 1,218 votes.

Others who were in the nominations race John Milla Otieno (906), Ben Musungu (524), Christine Odhiambo (417), Tony Ogola (381), Stephen Okello (228), Brian Owino (127), Reuben Ojijo (52) and Eric Obayi (45).


Post a Comment