Wednesday June 19, 2019 – Some members of the Council of Governors (CoG) boycotted a meeting of the powerful Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC) chaired by Deputy President William Ruto yesterday at his office in Karen, Nairobi.

A well-placed source at the council intimated that the council was protesting that the Division of Revenue Allocation (DORA) Bill 2019 was not an agenda in the meeting. 

The Public Finance Management Act, 2012 established the Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council to provide a forum for cooperation between the National and County Governments on all budgeting and integrated development matters and the administration of the revenue sharing process in the devolved structure.

The two Houses have been divided over the amount of money that should be allocated to Counties in the 2019/20 financial year, leading to the collapse of the Bill. 

The National Assembly had allocated Ksh314 billion to the 47 Counties but Senators revised the amount to Ksh335 billion which was met with heavy resistance by the MPs.

As a result, County Governments will not be able to access money for the 2019/20 financial year that starts on July 1st until the Bill is passed.

"This is to bring to your attention that County Governments have no funds to perform any functions.

"It is important that Kenyans understand that County Governments will literally grind to a halt," read the CoG's statement addressed to Kenyans and members of the press on Monday. 

But later on, the Council of Governors resolved to meet the Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council and found a solution to the stalemate on revenue sharing.


Post a Comment